Reading – February

Ok, so February is a short month but my reading has been shockingly slow. I need to become one of those clever people who can read while walking to work. So this month I have pretty much only read:

California – Edan Lepucki – My second post-apocalyptic novel of the year. Well, more mid-apocalyptic maybe. Follows a couple who’ve left the destruction of LA to live alone in the wilderness. Focuses on how people are surviving, rather than the why. I didn’t find it massively compelling, which is probably why it took me so long to read, although I do like a bit of commune-based fiction. The fact I’d read Margaret Atwood’s Maddadam so recently probably didn’t do it any favours.

Escape from Childhood – John Holt – Related to my recent rambling post, this book by the unschooling pioneer looks at the rights of children in society. He proposes that “the rights, privileges, duties of adult citizens be made available to any young person, of whatever age, who wants to make use of them”. I’ve not finished this yet, but so far it’s definitely thought-provoking, challenging and a probably a bit extreme for me generally, a bit ranty, lots of his observations seem based on brief random encounters with children at airports. “If we gave up our vested interest in children’s dependency and incompetence – would they not much more quickly become independent and competent? We ought to give it a try.”

Leave a Reply

