2015

Hello blog. Glad I could still remember how to find my way here.

I’ve had a mild case of the Blahs the last couple of months (the Blahs aren’t as bad as the Blue Meanies). Just a bit like my brain’s gone into hibernation. Tired, unmotivated. I need a brain dump so here I am. Hello!

The beginning of the new year seems like as good a time as any to give myself a kick up the bum, cliched as it is. These aren’t really resolutions, or goals. Just habits, things I do anyway that I know make me happy and I just need to make time in my life for.

Move more

I signed up to a samba dance class last year and I’ve now joined the group. It’s been a lot of fun, interspersed with falling over. I used to see the band busking in Cardiff City Centre on Saturday afternoons when I was younger and loved their energy. I’ve just signed up to go away to Pembrokeshire for a weekend with them in February. Not sure how I feel about leaving MiniRegz for that long but it should be fun. So dancing is a way of getting fit but I also need to be fitter so I can dance better (there has also been talk of hotpants for a performance in the summer which scares the bejeesus out of me).

I’ve also just joined the hordes of people joining the gym in January only to be regretting the monthly direct debit by March. I have already used the membership to take MiniRegz to soft play though…

I need novelty to keep exercising. I just don’t feel I’m one of those that can keep plugging away at something, improving bit by bit. Hot yoga, hooping, fencing, roller derby, bellydancing, fitbox – all things I have tried, enjoyed and abandoned for various reasons. But I don’t see them as failures as they got me moving at the time! I want to try one new thing to get me moving every month this year. I will let you know how it goes.

Get outside more

I think part of the reasons I’ve been feeling so blah is hibernation. I know I feel better when I get outside. So I’m going to aim to have one outdoor trip with MiniRegz each week. Nothing too adventurous, even if it’s just to the park.  2014-12-21 14.36.15

Make more

I love my cat, I do, but my crochet has definitely slowed down since she came to live with us in the summer. She loves to conform to stereotypes and bash a ball of yarn around. I’m going to aim for making one thing a month, doesn’t have to be crochet. I’d love to get my sewing machine out again and get that in a tangle instead.

crochet

Read more

And make an effort to record what I’ve read so when it gets to the end of the year and someone asks about my favourite books of the year I can actually tell them.

So it’s all pretty self-involved really. It goes without saying that I’d like to change the world for the better and work towards achieving global peace but that needs a bit more thought.

Happy new year!

3 thoughts on “2015

  1. Pingback: Level Up! | The Gingerbread

Leave a Reply

