Recently

It’s been pretty quiet around here recently. I’ve got the big 3-0 coming up soon, and I can’t say I’ve been seeing out the last weeks of my twenties with a bang. Apart from a beautiful wedding, a trip to see family and hunt scarecrows oop North and a great night spent watching one of the hardest working rock bands around pretend to be Kraftwerk for a bit, it’s mostly been a month of pottering around the house…

Baking

Mojito Cake

I’ve written about this cake before. It’s a mojito cake from a recipe on Domestic Sluttery. I made it for a charity cake sale at Andy’s work but I made him bring the last slice home for me – it’ll do until I can have a proper mojito again!

Making

Crochet jar cover

Crochet jar cover

I saw these cute crochet jar covers on Attic24 (again). Well, I say cute -they look cute on the Attic24 blog, mine just remind me of those woolly covers nans make for toilet rolls. I’m sure one day I’ll be the kind of person who makes those, but I don’t want to be there just yet. Oh well, they brighten up some rusty old jars anyway.

Embroidery hoops

An idea I saw on Oh You Pretty Things blog. It seems like a good way of brightening up a wall, and it’s easy enough to change the fabric if I change my mind.

Decorating

Painting the bedroom

At least I’ve painted a wall before I reach 30. Even if it does seem like I chose the colour to go with my nail varnish. Which I noticed, during down dog, is the same colour as my yoga matt. Which was pointed out to me in class a few weeks ago is the same colour as my coat… I fear I’m getting rather predictable. Still, it’s rather exciting to get to paint our very own walls for the first time.

Leave a Reply

