2012

2012 was a bastard of a year year for so many people I know. I really hope 2013 is better for everyone.

I was pretty lucky last year, all told. In some ways it felt like a planning kind of year, the kind of year where wheels get set into motion slowly.

In 2012 I started the year by going to NIA, burlesque and belly dance classes. I didn’t keep any of them up but loved them all and am happy to see that the NIA teacher does a class not far from my new house. I also did my yellow belt in Tae Kwon Do, and did courses in Acceptance & Commitment Therapy and Coaching & Mentoring.

In 2012 I finished my counselling course with CRY, which had taken two years. It’s strange not seeing my course attendees so much any more. I learnt a lot from them. I’ve had my first clients, and facilitated at my first support day. I also contributed to CRY’s Sibling Grief booklet and website.

In 2012 I fulfilled a dream of mine and went to Tokyo. We attempted karaoke, visited temples, stroked lots of cute kitties at cat cafes, wanderered around baffled by the lights and train map. We also had breaks in Hay-on-Wye, Llanymddyfri, Majorca and Belfast.

DSC_0033

In 2012 we discovered, while looking on Rightmove, that the flat we were renting was up for sale. So our plan to stay put for a bit was scuppered, but it was a kick up the arse to look for somewhere to buy. And so we’ve settled in our cosy terrace in Splott. So excited to decorate and get out in the garden when the weather’s better.

In 2012, we saw some fab people get hitched and some lovely new babies were welcomed into the world. In September we found out we’d be welcoming one of our own this year! I’ve been lucky with my pregnancy so far, a bit more tired than usual but no real sickness fortunately. I feel like I should be taking bump photos or something, but it really doesn’t look like much different to post- Christmas belly. It all still feels a bit unreal, even though I can feel the little bell pepper squirming around. I was convinced at the last scan that they would tell me I was making the whole thing up and send me home. Next week we’ve got our twenty week scan so hopefully that will make things feel more real.

So if 2012 was about setting things up, let’s see how 2013 turns out. I’m not giving myself too many resolutions or expectations this year, I’m just going to go with the flow and not put too much pressure on myself. I’m hoping to fit more yoga into my life as that always makes me feel better, try to remember to take more photos as I was a bit rubbish with that last year, and, like every other year, Get Outside!

DSC_0046

Hope 2013 is a happy, healthy one for you and your families.x

One thought on “2012

Leave a Reply

