Sunny Sunday

It was such a gorgeous day today, it felt rude not to get out and make the most of it. We had been considering heading into town to start some Christmas shopping, but I’m so glad we didn’t. Shopping makes me grumpy at the best of times.

Walking through the woods, looking out over the sea, on the other hand, does my soul a world of good.

So after breakfast, we headed out to Porthkerry Park nearby. It’s right under the flight path for Cardiff airport, and I remember going there as a child to watch the planes flying in low over the beach.

We followed a short circular walk from this website, which took us through woods, along the beach, past the ruins of a Roman Villa, a castle and the remains of a witch’s house. Perfect.

The sky was such a beautiful colour. The leaves were blazing and crunched satisfyingly underfoot. Sunlight streamed through the trees. We even managed to eat lunch outside. If I learnt anything from the Famous Five, it’s that food tastes better outside.

It was one of those days that reminds me why ‘Get Outside’ is one of my resolutions to myself every year.

Hope everyone’s had a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

