We’re all going on a…

Not that you’d believe it from my ‘tan’ (ahem, milk bottle glow) but I’ve just come back from a week in Majorca. Andy’s parents took us away, along with his brother and his brother’s girlfriend, for a week in the sun to celebrate his birthday.

It was nice to get away for a bit and do pretty much nothing. I’m not really a beachy holiday type person, I like the sun and all but the sun does not like my skin! I got through quite a lot of Factor 50. It was pretty, pretty hot.

Mostly we spent the days swimming, watching the Olympics and drinking cocktails from various heads.

We also made the acquaintance of this little guy, who was called Diego. He used to show up at barbecue time and hang around until fed enough tasty treats!

I also got the chance to read a lot of books which is always nice. It was too hot to do much else.

*And So It Goes by Charles J. Shields – Biography of Kurt Vonnegut. Interesting guy, interesting book.

*The Contortionist’s Handbook by Craig Clevenger – which I think I read about on Sometimes Sweet. Book about a talented forger who has to escape the psychiatric system. I enjoyed this, a bit Chuck Palahniuk-y I thought (sorry, I’m not exactly a book reviewer I know!)

*The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker – what would happen if the earth’s rotation started to slow down? I was a tad underwhelmed by this. One of those ones where you enjoy it less the more you think about it after finishing it, although it was a sweet coming of age story.  Also, as a night shift worker, it made me think about the effects of the earth’s rotation on our bodies and circadian rhythms (fact = working at night requires more biscuits).

*The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde – I really enjoyed this, looking forward to reading the rest.

*The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern – I love the circus and this had beautifully evocative descriptions, although I felt the plot was a bit creaky and characters a bit flat.

*Into the Darkest Corner – Elizabeth Haynes – I’m not sure how this ended up on my Kindle so I didn’t know anything about it when I started reading. It was decent plane reading though, although I’m glad I didn’t read it while lounging by the pool as its tale of domestic abuse and OCD might have got me down a bit.

So yeah, I’m really bad at saying why I do or don’t like something but I do like reading book recommendations by people just as I get overwhelmed by the sheer choice of reading material to choose from, especially now I’ve got my Kindle. I’m just starting on Wolf Hall which should keep me going a while! So back to real life now…

 

2 thoughts on “We’re all going on a…

    • I got it out of the library although I probably should have got it on my Kindle – it’s one of those books that’s so big it hurts when it falls on your face when you fall asleep reading!

Leave a Reply

