Skatey Skatey

I think it was the beginning of last year, maybe even earlier, that I bought one of many LivingSocial deals that I never got round to using. This one was for some Roller Derby lessons with Cardiff Roller Collective (CRoC). But a combination of forgetfulness and nervousness made me miss the expiry date.

Fast forward to April this year, myself, Laura and a couple of other friends, went along to a Tiger Bay Brawlers Recruitment Day. I thought it was more of an introduction day – I’m glad I didn’t know it was a recruitment day or I might never have gone! It was the first time I’d been on skates since staying at Llangrannog with school I think. I used to love Roller Discos as a kid, my Gransha was the best skater! But it’s been a while since then and I was very wobbly. Loved it though!

Me at recreational skating this morning!

So after that I went along to a couple of their Rec League sessions where anyone can have a go. Work got in the way for a bit, the joys of a 24hr rota, but I’ve now started a beginners’ course with CRoC. I’m definitely feeling a bit less wobbly although there’s still a long way to go! To play you need to pass your minimum skills, of which there are a lot! One of these is being able to skate 25 laps in 5 minutes. When we did a times skate a couple of weeks ago, I managed 23 on my brand new skates so I was pretty pleased with that. Other than that I’ve been trying to focus on stopping and falling – both very handy to know!

My job has a habit of getting in the way of hobbies, but I’ve splashed out on the kit now so am hoping to keep at it for a bit as I’m really enjoying!

One thought on “Skatey Skatey

Leave a Reply

