Patchwork

Just a quick picture of my first attempt at patchwork. I do not have the attention to detail for sewing, this is starting to fall apart already! And as you can see the ‘squares’ are rather wonky! It was from a kit I bought in Monmouth after visiting nearby Trellech. Sewing is definitely something I’d like to practice more.

I’ve been trying to remember not to let the perfect be the enemy of the good. I can find it quite easy to give up, or not just start things, if I’m worried the outcome won’t be as good as I want it to be. Which is why I didn’t submit any coursework for the second photography course I did last year, for example. However, as Gretchen Rubin of the Happiness Project has said, “it’s better to get something done imperfectly than to do nothing perfectly.” So I’m trying to focus on just having a go and enjoying the process!

2 thoughts on “Patchwork

  1. I have a related perfectionism problem, but in my case it leads me to lean towards projects without a definite end date. “Finishing” things leaves them open to criticism; to scrutiny… it’s often far easier to leave many projects unfinished than to finish just one.

    I’m teaching myself to get better at it by taking on small projects that can be completed in only one or two sittings. You might have seen for example that on my blog I’ve released little browser plugins and sites that make deed polls and other little techie things, in order to teach myself that it’s okay to finish things and let the world love (or hate!) them for what they are.

    There’s a joy in finishing things, but there’s a leap of faith to get there.

  2. Ah yes, the old “but I’ve still got lots to do on it” answer. I know that one!

    I like this quote from a book called The Woman Who Thought Too Much about writing:

    “In order to write anything real, you have to kill that luminous potential, and erect something concretely disappointing in its place. It’s like Milner said: one of the necessary conditions of creativity is the ability to bear the disillusionment which an encounter with one’s real-world, unidealized products inevitably brings. If you can get through that, you have a something, which is better than a nothing, be it ever so luminous.”

    http://www.mind.org.uk/blog/5353_review_the_woman_who_thought_too_much_joanne_limburg

Leave a Reply

