Happy holidays!

I hope you’ve all had a nice Christmas. Despite having to work Christmas day, it feels like we’ve had a nice break. Christmas Eve was spent with my folks, drinking lots of red wine and making plans for next Christmas. After work on Christmas Day we went to Dave and Laura’s, where Dave had made an awesome Christmas dinner. We had a lovely day, playing Trivial Pursuit and falling asleep in front of Doctor Who (that might have just been me!).

On Boxing Day we made a flying visit up north and watched a version of the Wizard of Oz where Bolton had replaced Kansas and the Wonderful Wizard was from Wigan.

It’s nice to be back home and chilling out a bit now. In the weeks leading up to Christmas I was busy crafting and baking, when I wasn’t busy stuffing my face with cheese and chocolate. I made a few crochet flower badges, and a crochet Christmas garland (2011 will go down as the year I finally conquered crochet, mwahaha).

I also shamelessly nicked Hayley’s Cookies in a Jar idea, and made batches of White Chocolate & Baileys Fudge, spiced apple chutney, chocolate truffles and Christmas cake truffles. I haven’t heard that anyone has been taken into hospital with sugar coma/food poisoning/stabbing from badly sewn on pins yet, but I fear it may only be a matter of time!

So it’s just about getting ready for 2012 now I guess. 2011 has been mostly fun. I’ve ridden a camel on the banks of the Nile, trekked a llama in Herefordshire, moved house (again), started a new job, passed year 1 of my counselling course, passed a photography course, failed a photography course (couldn’t get my arse in gear to submit my coursework), bellydanced in front of a whole cruise ship, volunteered briefly at a psychiatric hospital, actually got round to going non-festival camping finally, and had some awesome holidays here and abroad. I’m hoping 2012 brings more adventure. Next up is Tokyo in March, can’t wait!

And as I think I probably put every year on my blog when I remember:

May your coming year be filled with magic and dreams and good madness. I hope you read some fine books and kiss someone who thinks you’re wonderful, and don’t forget to make some art — write or draw or build or sing or live as only you can. And I hope, somewhere in the next year, you surprise yourself. Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

