Here be ghosties

It might not be Halloween yet (although the supermarkets would have us believe that it’s pretty much Christmas) but last weekend we went hunting ghosties.

Andy’s family were down so we surprised them with some tickets to the Llandaff Ghost Walk. It was rather a bargain. The ticket price of £15 included the walk and a two course meal at a restaurant nearby. Despite having stuffed ourselves in the new coffeeshop above Wally’s not long before (the Rohrbach sandwich there is seriously amazing), and walked for miles around town, we were all still up for more eating and walking. Well, most of us were, the poor husband’s been poorly and we didn’t think he’d make it on the walk, but he did luckily, as I needed protecting from the ghoulies and ghosties! So those of us who did eat enjoyed the food, even though everyone looked in disgust at my beetroot and paneer curry (which was actually lovely, I have to say).

While we were eating, we had some info to read on poltergeists and other spooky goings-on, which I thought was a nice touch. Then it was off to find out what was lurking in the dark corners of Llandaff. I wasn’t sure what to expect, I didn’t know if it would be people in sheets shouting ‘boo!’ from behind trees, but it wasn’t luckily, and it was great! So many interesting stories which gave a really good insight into how Llandaff, and Cardiff, were in the past. And Jim, the tour guide, was such a good storyteller. I have to confess I didn’t see anything otherworldy myself but it was genuinely creepy! I particularly liked the story about the Gwrach y Rhibyn, a story I seemed to half-remember from somewhere. I’d really recommend it to anyone looking for something a bit different to do on a Saturday night!

(No, the photo of the lampost doesn’t really have anything to do with Llandaff or ghosts, but it’s vaguely old’n’spookylooking!).

Leave a Reply

