Life, Death & Harry Potter

So a while ago I started to write a list of 30 things I wanted to do before I was 30 which I then promptly forgot all about. One of the things on the list was to do a performance, so I’m counting my hooping at Brisfest. Another item I can tick off now is getting a photo used for something. The photo above was used in the Ffotogallery course booklet, which I’m a bit happy about as there were so many good photographers on the Beginners course I did at the start of the year. I’m hoping to do the second beginners course in the autumn. I’ve been going through my photos from our recent camping jaunts this morning and, judging by the amount of out of focus photos, it’s not something I’ll ever be great at, but I do enjoy it and that’s the main thing!

It’s this time of year when I start to feel grateful for whatever I get done by the age of 30 anyway, as I know we don’t all even get that far. It would have been my brother’s 26th birthday yesterday. I always find it a bit of a rough time, but this year all the Harry Potter final film stuff has made me feel even more sad. He wasn’t exactly a big reader was Gareth. Calvin & Hobbes, this rubbish football novel called United and Harry Potter. His bedroom shelves still hold all the Harry Potter books and films – up to a point. He never got to find out what happened. I know it’s a silly thing, but that has really got to me this year. Anyway, just a reminder to me to appreciate every day and every friend as we don’t know when our last page is going to be.

(CRY heart screening is taking place in the University of Glamorgan on 24th July. You can see if there’s anything planned in your area on the CRY website)

Leave a Reply

