2010 – a lazy meme post

What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?

Got married would probably be the most obvious!

Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I’m not sure if I had time to make resolutions last year, being about three weeks before the wedding. My intentions for the coming year include: Let Sian be Sian. Dance. Get Outside. Keep on Hooping.  Eat Less, Move More. Digitally Disconnect. Take More Photos.

What countries did you visit?

USA: I spent a fabulous five nights in New York for our honeymoon.

Spain: We went to Barcelona for Primavera in May which was awesome fun.

What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?

A bit more money please?

What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I think our wedding day would again be the most obvious answer! (And the one I will get into trouble for most if it doesn’t remain etched on my memory!)

What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Not getting too drunk at my own wedding. Being brave enough to go to Bristol and hoop dance in public with a bunch of ladies I’d  never met before! Also, getting a new job!

Were you seriously ill during 2010?

No, although I felt like dying on our last day in New York after a few too many cocktails the night before!

What was the best thing you bought?

My Vivienne Westwood Lady Dragon heels are pretty awesome. I just wish I could walk in them.

Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Andy, always.

Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

Nick Clegg.

Where did most of your money go?

I wish I knew! I even stopped shopping for six weeks during the summer – I bought nothing except for food and toiletries during that time, to try and work out where it all goes. Excitingly I think most of it goes to the landlord and utility companies!

What did you get excited about?

Being a wife, getting a new name, eating lots of cake and messing about with a plastic hoop.

What songs will always remind you of 2010?

Baby I Love You – The Ramones

Left My Heart in Tokyo – MiniViva

Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? About the same I would say, although this January feels a bit less manic but less exciting than last January!

ii. thinner or fatter? Fatter, it’s been a good Christmas!

iii. richer or poorer? About the same.

What do you wish you’d done more of?

Dance! Outside of classes I don’t feel like I danced enough this year.

What do you wish you’d done less of?

Um, moving house twice was a bit much!

How did you spend Christmas?

We went oop north to spend Christmas with Andy’s family. It was the first Christmas I’d spent without my parents which felt a bit strange. Christmas day was spent mostly eating at Andy’s step-dad’s sister’s house.

What were your favorite TV programmes?

Mad Men, rediscovering the X Files!

What was your greatest musical discovery?

I feel like new music mostly passed me by this year. I have fallen a little bit in love with Caitlin Rose’s Own Side Now a bit though.

Which were the best books you read?

My Shelfari list reveals a lot of ‘train station’ books, books grabbed at Woolworths. This year I definitely need to read with more intention. Having said that, some books that made me think this year included Margaret Atwood’s Oryx & Crake and The Year of the Flood, Jon Krakauer’s Into the Wild and The Spirit Level by Wilkinson and Pickett. Books that made me cry were One Day by David Nicholls, Hurry Down Sunshine by Michael Greenberg and Joe: The Only Boy in the World by Michael Blastland (which was a gift from the National Autistic Society to mark that I’ve now been befriending for four years).

Are you happy with your lot?

I am indeed!

Who were the best new people you met?

The folks on my counselling course have taught me so much and I feel really honoured to be going through this journey with them.

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010:

Learning to use eyeliner half an hour before getting married is not the best time to do so.

Quote a lyric that sums up your year:

Ring the bells that still can ring

Forget your perfect offering

There is a crack in everything

That’s how the light gets in.

– Leonard Cohen, Anthem

Leave a Reply

