Primavera Sound

We battled through traffic jams, seas of cows…

…and turning up at the airport to find that we’d bought tickets for 24 hours earlier. Doh. But luckily there were two seats left on the plane, and after a painful hit to the credit card we were on our way to Barcelona for Primavera Sound.

I ate: lots of ice cream, too many omelettes (the veggie option!), yummy tapas, boring paella (veggie apart from the octopus leg – eww!)

I drank: plenty of healthy fruit-filled sangria, so much overpriced San Miguel I don’t want to see it again for a while (they sponsored the festival)

I gawped at: Gaudi’s awesome work at the Sagrada Familia, Parc Guell and Casa Batllo (which will be my house one day)

We watched: Bis, Surfer Blood, The Fall, Titus Andronicus, The XX, Tortoise, Broken Social Scene , Pavement, Fuck Buttons, Owen Pallet, Hope Sandoval and the Warm Inventions, Scout Niblett, Beak, CocoRosie, Beach House, Wilco, Panda Bear, Shellac, Pixies, Florence and the Machine, Grizzly Bear, No Age, Dum Dum Girls, Pet Shop Boys and Orbital (yes, I geekily kept a record for no particular reason).

Really enjoyed Pavement, Owen Pallet was awesome as ever (and did a very cool Caribou cover), and Pet Shop Boys were great fun.

I’ve never been to such a big festival, and I’m not sure it was quite my cup of tea. It was a bit concretey and lacking in real ale, compared to something like Green Man. Saying that, the music was great and I had a fab time, and totally worth the stupid amount of money we gave to Easyjet!

Leave a Reply

