2009: Some records I liked

Some records I liked that (I think) came out in 2009.

Pagan Wanderer Lu – Fight my Battles for me

But of course!

Alela Diane – To Be Still

Discovered by me, I seem to recall, via a tweet from Spillers Records. Lovely. Was lucky enough to see her at The Gate in September.

Dent May & His Magnificent Ukelele – The Good Feeling Music of Dent May & His Magnificent Ukelele

Saw him support Animal Collective earlier in the year, and again at Green Man. Things for which I have a soft spot #1 –  a falsetto.

The Laurie Records Story , Vol. 3: Girls and Girl Groups

One listen of The Chiffons – Stop, Look and Listen and it’s in my head for days. Things for which I have a soft spot #2 – old death discs. Great car crash sound effects in Reparata’s Your Life is Gone!

Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest

One of my highlights of Green Man.

The Girls Are At It Again – UK Beat Girls 1964-1969

Things for which I have a soft spot #3 – good liner notes – provided here by Sheila Burgel (who I wish still had time to update Cha Cha Charming as I discovered so much good stuff on there!). Especially love Long Time Comin’ by Bimbi Worrick, written by Ellie Greenwich, who sadly passed away this year.

I also liked other things.

Leave a Reply

