P-Day

So today was the big day, P-day.

My parents, Andy and I travelled down on Sunday morning so we had a bit of time to spend in London. We pootled down Portobello Road in the afternoon and popped into the Hummingbird Bakery for lunch.

cakes

Even with my immense cake-eating skills, we had to leave some of the giant slab of brownie. It was so rich.

Later on we went to Hamleys and wandered down the South Bank and had Mexican food.

london eye

I had to have an early night though as I was being interviewed live on Radio Cymru at 7:30 in the morning – not a time when I’m generally very coherent!

Then it was off to Trafalgar Square to check in. I had my photo taken, and took part in a short interview for the Wellcome Trust who are collecting records of all the plinthers. Then I got carried across the Square by the cherry picker and lifted aloft onto the plinth. Loads of staff and supporters of Cardiac Risk in the Young had turned out and it was lovely to see lots of friendly faces at the bottom! They all did a great job of handing out leaflets about the charity to passing public.

plinth

It was a very bizarre experience. Apart from making sure that my sign didn’t blow away (which was quite difficult with the wind up there, and as my arms were still hurting from rafting on Saturday), I wasn’t quite sure what I should be doing up there. I’m afraid I started rambling to myself a bit!  The time went a lot quicker than I thought it would. Before I knew it, my time was up and I saw the cherry picker coming towards me across the Square.

After that it was lunch with all the other CRY supporters, another Radio Cymru interview, a quick stop-off at CyberCandy for a chocolate haul, and then home.

It’s been a bit of a rollercoaster of a day, emotionally. I hope I raised some awareness, even if just through the media coverage.

www.testmyheart.org

2 thoughts on “P-Day

Leave a Reply

